Event Details and Registration

Down Arrow
open
Welcome Guest
Below you will find the details for this webinar. You may register by clicking the registration link found in the Webinar Information section below.
(Print-friendly version)

Title:
FAASTeam September 2022 Topic of the Month - Pre-Flight After Maintenance
Topic:
Pre-Flight After Maintenance. Is it safe? Is it airworthy?
Date and Time:
Monday, September 12, 2022, starting at 18:00 Eastern Daylight Time (15:00 PDT; 16:00 MDT; 17:00 CDT; 12:00 HST; 14:00 AKDT; 15:00 Arizona; 22:00 GMT)
Speaker(s):
Stephen Bateman, CFI
Brief Description:

FAASTeam September 2022 Topic of the Month: Pre-Flight After Maintenance

Register here: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/2242055262596365839

Background:  
The General Aviation Joint Steering Committee (GAJSC) and the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) have determined that a significant number of general aviation fatalities could be avoided if pilots were to conduct more thorough preflight inspections of aircraft that have just been returned to service. In-flight emergencies have been the direct result of maintenance personnel who have serviced or installed systems incorrectly.

Leaning Points:
•    Learn all you can about the maintenance that was performed.
•    Don’t assume the part(s) replaced are the only parts removed. 
•    Pay attention to trim positions. Check for unimpeded flight control surface deflections. Make sure they  move in the correct directions!
•    Make sure all inspection panels are secure and their fasteners are tight. 
•    Check fuel tank for water, sediment, and correct fuel grade.
•    After an oil change, always check the engine oil level to ensure it has the correct amount of oil. 
•    Always check your logbook and paperwork prior to flight to ensure records have been entered correctly.
•    If you see a warning tag/sign on the aircraft, or on the sign-out or status board, DO NOT FLY THE AIRCRAFT! Check with the maintenance facility prior to taking the aircraft.
•    Know your plane.  Participate in, or observe your mechanic perform, an annual or 100 hour inspection.

 

Join the Westminster Aerobats Flying Club safety meeting and get WINGS credit.

The Westminster Aerobats Flying Club (WAFC) uses WINGS for Clubs as the basis for its safety culture. 

Call Steve (402 200 8930) for more information on WINGS for Clubs.

Select Number:
EA07114226
Webinar Information

Please register here for the FAASTeam September 2022 Topic of the Month: Pre-Flight After Maintenance

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/2242055262596365839

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email with information about joining the webinar.


Seating:
Check Additional event Information below for possible registration requirements.
Registration Information:
Seminar has passed.
Sponsoring Division:
FAASTeam
Contact Information:
Stephen Bateman
Phone: (402) 200-8930
sbateman7799@gmail.com
Additional Event Information & Acknowledgement of Industry Sponsor(s):

The support of the FAASTeam, Baltimore FSDO and the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association is gratefully acknowledged.

Credit Applicability:
½ Credit for Basic Knowledge Topic 3
FAASTeam Project Information:
WINGS
National Project:
Topic of the Month
Additional Event Documents: